Subscription Review: January Homegrown Collective

Image

I always say I’m going to write reviews, but I never do, too many other great things I could be say, typing and doing. So why are you now reading a post titled “review”?  January’s Homegrown Collective is amazing.

I use present tense because HGC delivers on the last day of the month – Always – so I get to spread out the DIY’s throughout the month.  I am also using HGC’s own stock photos because I tore into this month’s box and didn’t think to actually TAKE pics of arrival and etc.

Theme: Detox Inside and out

Goodness what a great theme for this time of the year! I’m still in that post holiday “bloatiness” and “springs so far away” mentality so this box hit all the right buttons.  I’ve definately been detoxing daily with Kusmi’s BB Detox (good for the skin and Yummers!) and crafting up some spa essentials for my next lazy day inside.

What’s in the box (project by project)

Dandelion Tea:

  • Pack of dry Dandelion stems
  • Tea Diffuser
  • Glass Jar ( to store)
  • Review:  Tea is tasty ( really! )

Rose Water & Bentonite Clay Mask

  • Concentrated Rose Water
  • Clear Spray bottle ( for Rose Water Dilution )
  • Pipette
  • Bentonite Clay (dry)
  • wooden tongue depressors
  • Review:  This is a fun DIY mask.  clay+ water = mask , then mist with Rose water for an amazing time.  The pull during the drying process can hurt, so if it gets too intense spritz more rose water!

Fizzing Lavender Bath Salts (w/ Dead Sea Salts)

  • Dead Sea Salts ( Certificate of authenticity included!)
  • Sodium Bicarbonate and Citric Acid Blend ( for fizzies ^^)
  • Dried Lavender
  • 2 muslin bags (for bath use)
  • glass jar ( to store bath salts)

 

Summary:

This box has been great fun and its a great value.  The projects are easy to put together and make for a great spa moment from beginning to end.  Each recipe makes enough product for 1-2 uses and there’s plenty of raw ingredients left over to make a fresh batch later.    I am slowly working my way through all of  the projects; if I had more self control I could finish all of them in one weekends, but where’s the fun in that ?  I am consistently impressed by the quality of ingredients that HGC send in their monthly boxes and I’m not embarrassed to say I cooed over the glass bottle of Rose Water ( it looks exactly like my Grandma’s bottle of Rose Water – parfum ).  Okay, I cooed over every set of min glass containers that came in my HGC…I like small glass vials!

Back in Octover, I bought the 6month subscription from the get-go ( I hate paying SH fees) and I’m really glad I did, when April comes around I might plan on an Annual Subscription ( they’re the only ones who give me Glass jars! )

Anyone else get January’s HGC?  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

