Thanksgiving: My No-Brainer Menu

Thanksgiving is 10 days away, I haven’t started shopping yet, but here’s my game plan.  Does this post look familiar? Why yes, it does look remarkably similar to my previous Thanksgiving Post ;P)

I included a few helpful links at the bottom to help with inspiration!

Links to the recipe that I will be using ^^ ( in case anyone needs a last-minute menu ! ) You’ll notice, many of these links are from Martha Stewart.  The MSL empire built my culinary foundations, so that’s where I like to search for recipes.

My Thanksgiving Dinner Plan.


Appetizers
 ( AKA, what I’m eating while I’m cooking)

Main Dishes:

  • Old Fashion Turkey
    • I used fresh herbs last year, with veggies in the drip pan.  It was so good! This year, I’m going to try “Flipping the Bird” !
  • Lamb shoulder Chops
    • Apparently my dad  doesn’t like turkey – which I thought was his favorite part of the meal!  …Still trying to wrap my head around the years of deceit, LOL.

Sides:

Dessert:

  • Croquembouche:
    • Pastry Shells, filled with Whipped Cream
    • one day, the novelty of constructing a tower of concentric circles with creme puffs will get old; but until I’m making one every chance I get ^^
  • Chocolate Pecan Pie
    • the recipe calls for Sorghum syrup, which can be hard to find, I use molasses syrup in a pinch.

…and, that’s a Wrap!

Menu Collections:
Epicurious
Martha Stewart – Lots of Turkey Ideas!
Food Network

Stay on Schedule Articles:
7 Things To Do Now – Martha Stewart
Tips for a Stress Free Thanksgiving – WhatsCookingAmerica
Thanksgiving Countdown Planner – FoodNetwork

I’m using an Excel file to stay organized while I preparing large dinner.  I will share it if anyone is interested; its not pretty, but all the columns and formulas are there.

Leave a Reply

