Re-Discovering Square Word Calligraphy

It’s been a while….
But I was Kinda inspired by The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art‘s Art Talk last night’s. The Artist, Xu Bing, ( whom, I’ve apparently been a fan of since HS, but didn’t know about ? ) is a quirky, progressive and conceptually challenge Artist. The way his earlier works challenged the concept of formal language constructions “is so intriguing and relate-able for me as a Second Generation Chinese American ( who is a frequent speaker of Chin-glish and Drama- Aquired Korean/Japanese slang ). There is a strong sense of familiarity and, dare I say, camaraderie when faced with some of his earlier works.
Google: Square Word Calligraphy by Xu Bing – it’s just so cool
I Kind of became obsessed (once more) with his “Square Word Calligraphy” and did Some research to find a “textbook” with little luck. They don’t exist in Mass Print – only at Art Auction T.T  However, thanks to the great internet, I found that THE MET has a piece displayed Online for the world to appreciate ^^. Definitely feeling a new project coming on ^^ ( PM me if you want to study the “manual” together !)
Other more accessible works by Xu Bing: Find/ order them from your preferred book dealer.

 

Have you (re)discovered anything Awesome Lately?

Leave a comment